Many workers are unaware of their basic rights like, if they get injured during work-time, there is a third party, who is liable to pay them compensation. They might be an external vendor to claim on someone for whose negligence the accident happened.
This is common. A few days earlier, I came across a case where some workers sued the company’s management because they were injured in an accident in the building elevator or hallway.
Even if the owner was the tenant of the building, still, if he had liabilities, then he had to pay workers their rightful compensation. Again, consult Miami personal injury lawyers for the best workplace injury advice.
Many laws protect the values of workers. Workplace injury claims are different from normal worker compensation, so better understand the
Maritime injury acts
The Jones Act
The Jones Act is a federal law that acts as compensation in the maritime industry. The Act states maritime business needs to uphold a secured position to work and live in marine conditions. Premises Liability under this Act can occur only when a seaman proves the damage caused is due to the employer’s negligence in maintaining the property.
The Longshore Act for novices
Are you a novice in marine, don’t worry; the Longshore act has got you covered. The Act is named as the Longshore & Harbor Workers Compensation Act. This usually protects maritime workers, like workers of docks or shipyards can apply for compensation if damage occurs during work issues?
It is similar to the Jones Act but offers a more substantial amount if the person has suffered permanent or temporary disability due to the accident.
Every state’s legislature is different, and every state regulates when and how the compensation will be given. In this piece, you will know Florida’s workplace injury compensation laws.
Plus, keep in mind that the law can change even, and it does in Florida. So, the compensation will be given according to the rule on the accident date. Seek expert advice at Miami personal injury lawyers.
What to do when you are injured at the workplace?
The first thing to do after you are injured is to notify your supervisor within 30 days of the accident. In instances where you are unaware that you are injured, like exposure to chemicals, to know the reason for your injury, you get 30 days from the time you are aware of your illness and its cause.
However, if the issue becomes a terminal disease, workers of coal mines are often diagnosed with Black Lung, in this case, as workers are required to put down a notice within 90 days of the disease.
Make sure to fill up your injury list after a complete checkup because later on, the company might refuse to pay for any other injury claim. Also, try to click pictures of all your injuries, even in the place of the accident.
However, visuals are not required, but you never know how you will have to prove your injury. Want help? Miami personal injury lawyers will help you throughout the procedure.