Working as a Community Association Manager (CAM) in Florida is one of the many ways to join real estate. It is a fast-growing profession, and to become a CAM in Florida, you’ll need to obtain a CAM license.
A CAM oversees community associations, such as condo associations and homeowners’ associations.
To obtain a CAM license in Florida, an applicant must be at least 18 years old, possess a high school diploma or equivalent, and have ethical values. Here is a step-by-step guide to getting your CAM license in Florida.
1. Complete a State-approved 16-hour Pre-licensing Course
Before taking the CAM examination, you must complete a state-approved 16-hour pre-licensing course, 12 months before the examination date. This course will teach you the basic principles of community association management, including the Florida Statutes and Administrative Code that govern CAMs. The course can be completed online or in person and must be provided by an approved provider. Upon completion, a course completion certificate is issued for one year.
2. Get Your Fingerprints Taken Electronically
Applicants for the CAM license in Florida must have their fingerprints taken electronically as required by the state, along with a background check. One can have their fingerprints taken by an approved live scan vendor, make a reservation online, or by contacting the Pearson VUE customer care center and choose a convenient date and time. On average, the charge is $58.02 to have your fingerprints done.
3. Complete the Application
Once you’ve passed the CAM exam, you’ll need to complete and submit an application to the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR) and pay a fee of $223. The application will require you to provide some personal information, including your name, address, and Social Security number. You will also need proof that you have completed the 16-hour pre-licensing course, by providing the course completion certificate, and that you have passed the state-approved CAM examination.
An application takes about 10 days to get approved, and once done, you will get an email notification and a candidate ID number (FLDBPR ID). This is the same number you used to sign-up for the CAM examination.
4. Pass the State-approved CAM Exam
After completing the pre-licensing course, you must pass a state-approved CAM examination. The exam will test your knowledge of community association management principles, Florida laws, and ethics. You can register to take the exam online through Pearson VUE and pay a fee of $83.
The exam has 120 multiple-choice questions; you will have 3 hours to complete it. An applicant can retake the Florida state exam as often as possible and only wait 24 hours to reschedule.
Following the above guidelines takes you closer to obtaining your CAM license in Florida. The good news is that it is available to both residents and non-residents of Florida. Your license will need to be renewed every two years and, to renew, you must complete 20 hours of continuing education courses every two years, including at least 2 hours of ethics training.