Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

5 Most Magical Books to Read if You Loved Harry Potter
5 Most Magical Books to Read if You Loved Harry Potter

Entertainment

5 Most Magical Books to Read if You Loved Harry Potter

Are you looking for an adult fantasy fiction novel to get hooked to this winter? You’ve come to the right place!

There are generations that have grown up devouring the Harry Potter series, and many of them are ready to watch Harry Potter movies in order all over again! Like everyone else, we’re no different. We’ve read all the books over and over several times; in good and bad.We’ve been swayed by the power of storytelling through this exceptional tale of a boy who beat all the odds.

It’s surreal to find that literally not one person has anything bad to say about this series. Not a single person has ever badmouthed the fandom of Harry Potter, and that’s suffice to say how great a story it truly is. Characters we’ve grown up with have left a deep imprint on our personalities.

Whether it was political forces or the creator of the series herself, no one has been able to deter the faith we have on this series. People now more than ever relate to this world and take away lessons from it that help them navigate through life. If you’re someone who gets persuaded by texts and stories the same way as us, it’s time you get inspired by other similar stories as well.

It’s essential to read voraciously and read well. Books help in cultivating our thought patterns and evolve. They help us identify and feel represented in the mainstream so that we don’t feel left out.

As Dana Gioia, former Chairman of National Endowment for the Arts aptly says about why reading matters, “regular reading not only boosts the likelihood of an individual’s academic and economic success—facts that are not especially surprising—but it also seems to awaken a person’s social and civic sense. Reading correlates with almost every measurement of positive personal and social behavior surveyed.”

If you’re finding it hard to figure out what to read next, we have a list of five ready for you.

Inkheart by Cornelia Funke

Don’t we just love fantasy novels where characters instil strength in you by being courageous and brave? Don’t we just love the underdogs who overcome impossible situations and unlimited obstacles that come in their way? Well, Inkheart by Cornelia Funke is a story of a father-daughter duo who are, just like you and us, avid readers. Mo is a book binder whereas Meggie is a reader. She is like the Rory Gilmore of this story, has her nose in a book all the time.

But that’s not everything; the story takes a U-turn when Meggie discovers the actual reason her mother abandoned her. And when she realizes that the reason is somewhat related to books, her world collapses.

There is something adventurous and unexplainable about this novel. You find yourself weaved into the storyline so effortlessly that you wouldn’t want to come out of it; you’d rather be part of that world. The words are written beautifully and there’s a mix of innocence and naiveness that one cannot get over. You will find yourself quoting some of the dialogues and in no time it will become your next new obsession.

Best Quote: “Books loved anyone who opened them, they gave you security and friendship and didn’t ask for anything in return; they never went away, never, not even when you treated them badly. Love, truth, beauty, wisdom and consolation against death. Who had said that? Someone else who loved books.”

The Amulet of Samarkand by Jonathan Stroud

Set in modern London, this book is a story of Nathaniel who is a young and ambitious man and also an apprentice of a magician. What fuels him is the belittling and undermining from his master. Of course, something was bound to happen. Nathaniel decided to take revenge and so he indulged in ancient magical texts.

The story tackles several subplots and dark themes and discusses the consequences of free will. The story has many layers and subtle nuances that only an avid reader could catch and be inspired from.

The characters of this story are delicately woven and have so much to offer. It’s written so well that it encapsulates your spirit and soul and succumbs you into this world seamlessly. There are no mindless traps or useless words; everything is written with intent and purpose so be careful not to miss out anything when you read.

Best Quote: “Ambition is all very well, my lad, but you must cloak it.”

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

Kovothee gets exposed to Chronicler — till now he was living in a village with a false identity. There is a long discussion between the two and after a lot of back and forth, we come to a conclusion that the man has been through a lot in his life and has a story to share.

The pace of the story is incredibly fast and entertaining and it keeps you hooked every single minute. There is conversation about friendships, ancient magic and the many adventures of Kvothe.

Unlike other stories on the list, this story doesn’t have many characters so it’s narrative based with many twists and turns that will keep you charged up and at the edge of your seat. The way every sentence is phrased — even the use of certain words — is mesmerizing. If you’re a lover of fantasy novels, you can’t miss this one.

Best Quote: “Words are pale shadows of forgotten names. As names have power, words have power. Words can light fires in the minds of men. Words can wring tears from the hardest hearts.”

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

So Harry Potter was the chosen one and he finished his job with utmost conviction and charm. In this story, Simon Snow is also the chosen one but he is clumsy and not apt for the job at all. At least, that’s the general perception. In this story, you will find love, magic, humor, mystery and dynamic power of youth and their inherent grit. You will be moved by constant waves of nostalgia. The story might even remind you of the bitter rivalry between Harry and Draco.

This gay teen romance is engaging and smartly driven. You will find dragons and vampires and some of your favorite mythical creatures. The most fascinating thing about this series is that the author himself has admitted to the similarities with the Harry Potter series — he claims it was intentional. But yes, you will be joyous and incredibly satisfied by the end oy when you reach the other side of the story.

Best Quote: “You were the sun, and I was crashing into you.”

Felix Yz by Lisa Bunker

A father’s experiment gone wrong leaves his child in a hyper intelligent fourth dimensional being. Now he is thirteen year olds and it’s essential that he gets an operation to fix the problem. This book is about Felix and the 30 days journey before he undergoes the procedure. This could be life changing and determine what’s next for him.

The characters of this story are wonderfully arched and extremely quirky. Fexli’s grandparent is non binary and she is a woman three day of the week. It’s honestly an underrated gem that you must include in your fantasy novel list. The story will teach you so many lessons about life; mainly acceptance.

Best Quote: “And if you’re going to say chess pretty, you can save it chess pretty”

In Conclusion

If you’re a Harry Potter fan, you must add these novels in your list of recommendations. In fact, we would urge you to pick one of them right away because they are thoroughly entertaining, poignant and thought-provoking.

You May Also Like

Digital Logic Circuits

Excess-3 to BCD converter In this post on code conversions, we are going to see Excess-3 to BCD converter using k map technique.  K-map If you...

Digital Logic Circuits

BCD to Excess-3 converter In this post on a code converter, we are going to see BCD to Excess-3 converter using the k-mapping technique....

Digital Logic Circuits

Laws Of Boolean Algebra The Laws Of Boolean Algebra is provided here. OR A + 0 = A A + A’ = 1 A...

Latest

Life Style

If you desire to have a mattress that is durable and reliable, it is suggested to purchase an organic mattress. Organic mattresses are in...

Sports

Online Casinos are very famous and many people are playing and gambling. Online casinos can be divided into 3 groups based on their interface:...

Electronics

When buying earphones, what are the characteristics that you look forward to? While the plethora of options ensures that you are always spoilt for...

Business

If you own a small business, you need to pay close attention to your inventory. Effective inventory management can help you monitor stock levels...

Sports

You can get more Instagram followers by following these suggestions. In the first place, you must make your profile more personal. That means that you should...

Health Care

A double occurs when a layer of fat forms below your chin. Although it usually appears after weight gain, you don’t have to be...